Introduction

Hi my name is Holly Humphries and this is my psychology blog. First and foremost it’s important to know that I have Major depressive disorder (MDD) and generalized anxiety, both of which I’m being treated for, so I may approach a lot of things from my perspective and I have some prior knowledge of general psychology. I decided to take this course because I’m planning on majoring in Neuropsychology, so this is the first step in achieving that. I want to major in Neuropsychology because I want to be either a neurosurgeon or a trauma surgeon and do research; also, since I deal with a few problems myself and many people in my family do as well, I’m interested to really know what’s going on. Besides my own situation, I’ve also dealt with psychology being an EMT, because sometimes we get psychiatric calls, where we have to be especially sensitive, and where you learn the most about people. When I think of psychology I think of sitting in a therapists office, and of course the basic person on the long couch telling someone their problems. The three topics I’m most interested in are anxiety & mood disorders, sleep, and brain structures because of course I have anxiety; I’m kind of an insomniac at times or I sleep a lot, so sleep is interesting to me; and I love the brain so I’m interested in learning more about it. The three I’m not excited to learn about are the scientific method, research methods, and conditioning, because I learned about all of them in high school, and I remember really hating conditioning. Finally, the question I want answered by this course is if there is a possibility that diet could help ease depression/anxiety.

One thought on “Introduction

  1. Welcome to the course Holly. EMTs definitely get a lot of exposure to mental health problems, and it sounds like your experience has not been an exception. I’m glad EMTs get more training now than they used to for mental health issues, though as a counseling psychologist I always think more knowledge and skills in this area would be helpful. I hope I can make conditioning less painful this time around, or at least not bring up the hatred from your previous psychology class. For your question about dietary effects on anxiety, we’re not going to dig too much into that, but I would recommend checking out the work of Dr. Henry Emmons. He is a psychiatrist who has written a couple books about holistic treatment approaches for depression and anxiety, and he runs a clinic that has tremendous success with extremely difficult cases. I enjoyed his book Chemistry of Joy, but haven’t made time to read his follow-up (Chemistry of Calm) yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment